Welcome, welcome, welcome

New to Hg in the Sea? Here’s what you need to know!

My name is Katlin and I am a PhD candidate at Wright State University in Dayton, Ohio. I study mercury in the ocean…from Ohio? That’s right, Midwest oceanography all the way. This blog chronicles my “at-sea” experiences from traveling to foreign ports, collecting and analyzing samples at sea, and day-to-day life on the ship. I work with a program called GEOTRACES which is an international effort to understand the chemistry of the world’s oceans (geotraces.org). Scroll down to check out an Atlantic GEOTRACES cruise I completed in 2011. On October 25, I will begin the Equatorial Pacific Zonal Transect starting in Manta, Ecuador and ending in Tahiti. I will be accompanied by about 30 other scientist from all across the United States who are each studying a different metal.

Due to a demanding science schedule it is impossible for me to post on a regular basis but I do try to write a couple times a week. I would suggest selecting the “follow (+)” button on the top left corner, this will send you an email each time a new post is published. Or just keep checking in! If at any time you have comments or questions please feel free to contact me, you can choose to “leave a reply” which is a link posted at the bottom of each entry, or send an email to bowman.49@wright.edu.

Also, underneath the header image are links to some informational pages. Be sure to check out “Good fish, bad fish?” and “Mercury: Learn the Issues” to see how mercury pollution in the environment can effect you.

Thanks for stopping by, I hope you enjoy!

GEOTRACES Eastern Tropical Pacific Zonal Transect

The dots represent 36 different stations that will be occupied during the 2 month duration of the cruise.

cruise track

Leave a Reply

